CyberSecurity Certifications — Levels and Myths


Taimur Ijlal
4 min readSep 4


This is an excerpt from my new book “Cybersecurity certifications for Beginners.” Check it out on Amazon here

Cybersecurity Certification Levels: Beginner, Advanced, and Specialized

Cybersecurity certifications come in various types, from beginner, advanced, and specialized certifications to cater to every type of learning path.

Beginner Certifications

Perfect for those setting sail on their cybersecurity voyage. You could be a recent graduate, someone shifting career paths, or an IT professional wanting to dip your toes into cybersecurity. These certifications provide a broad overview of the field, introducing various concepts and setting a solid foundation. Think of these as your cybersecurity ABCs.

For example, CompTIA Security+ is an excellent place to start. It covers many topics, including network security and threat management, identity and access management, cryptography, etc.

Advanced Certifications

These certifications dive deeper into the field, perfect for professionals with a few years of experience wanting to validate and enhance their knowledge.

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is a renowned certification at this level. This cert demonstrates a professional’s expertise in designing, implementing, and managing a best-in-class cybersecurity program.

Specialized Certifications

These certifications delve into the nitty-gritty of specialized areas in cybersecurity, whether it be ethical hacking, security auditing, or cloud security.

Take, for instance, the Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) certification. It’s designed for professionals wanting to understand hackers’ mindsets, tools, and tactics to better defend against them. Or consider the…



Taimur Ijlal

☁️ Cybersecurity Pro | 🤖 Writes about AI Security | 🚀 Helping you get into Cybersecurity | Grab your free Ebook ->